

# Council Year 2009/2010

# Schedule of Group Nominations, including proposed appointments to the Cabinet by the Leader

**Notes:** (1) Where the number of members of a body is variable, the optional additional member number is bracketed - please see the accompanying paper on the application of the political balance rules where the different options are considered.

(2) Substitutes are allowed where indicated. The Council's Constitution requires that these be named and appointed at the Annual meeting. A number equal to the number of committee members from a Group up to a maximum of 3 are allowed for that Group unless stated otherwise.

**CABINET** (Leader of the Council plus 5 additional members of the controlling group). The formal appointment of the 5 members (other than the Leader) is to be made by the Leader following his/her appointment by the full Council. Although the Council has previously determined that the size of the Cabinet shall be between 4 and 6 in total it is open to the Leader to recommend the Council to agree a different size. The law requires that the Cabinet shall have at least 3 but not more than 10 members (including the Leader).

1	Leader of the Council: Tutt Responsibilities aligned with Chief			
1				
	Executive and including the Community Strategy, Local Strategic			
	Partnership, the Corporate Plan and economic development.			
2	<b>Deputy Leader: Tester</b> Responsible for core support and			
	strategic services.			
3	<b>Bannister</b> Direct assistance services including revenues and			
	benefits, housing and community development.			
4	Mattock Financial services including accountancy, audit, purchasing			
	and payments.			
5	Morris Commercial and recreational services including sport and			
	leisure, theatres, tourism, events and Devonshire Park, galleries and			
	museums.			
6	Wallis Place services including cleansing and recycling, amenities,			
	parks and Downland, highways and engineering, cemeteries and			
	crematoria, building and development control, planning policy and			
	strategy, environmental health and licensing and the Crime			
	Reduction Partnership.			

# **OPPOSITION "SHADOW CABINET"** (Notification for information)

1	<b>Opposition Leader: Elkin</b> (to shadow CE aligned responsibilities and economic development)
2	<b>Deputy Leader: Howlett</b> (to shadow commercial and recreational services including tourism)
3	<b>Belsey</b> (to shadow place services including amenities and environment)
4	<b>Goodall</b> (to shadow direct assistance services including community)
5	<b>Goodyear</b> (to shadow core support and strategic services)
6	Marsden (to shadow financial services)

## **COMMITTEES**

**Scrutiny Committee** (7 (or 8) members, not members of the Cabinet or the Mayor. Chairman to be appointed from the largest opposition group. and Deputy Chairman from the controlling group.

Controlling Group			Opposition	
1	D/Ch: Stanley	6	Ch: Marsden	
2	Heaps	7	Belsey	
3	Purchese	Sub	stitutes:	
4	Thompson	1	Elkin	
5	Woodall	2	Goodall	
(8)	No appointment to be made			
Subs	titutes:			
1	Harris			
2	Hough			
3	Pooley			

**Planning Committee** (12 trained Councillors - not Cabinet members. 8 as members of the Committee and 4 as substitutes).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Madell	7	Goodall
2	D/Ch: Harris	8	Taylor
3	Bloom	Sub	stitutes:
4	Неарѕ	1	Belsey
5	Miah	2	Howlett
6	Salsbury		
Sub	stitutes:		
1	Goodwin		
2	Pooley		

# Licensing Act and General Licensing Committees (Between 10 and

15 trained Members (currently 15) – not Cabinet members).

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Purchese	12	Belsey	
2	D/Ch: Heaps	13	Elkin	
3	Bloom	14	Goodall	
4	Goodwin	15	Goodyear	
5	Hough			
6	Madell			
7	Pooley			
8	Salsbury			
9	Stanely			
10	Thompson			
11	Woodall			

(No substitution allowed)

**<u>Sub-Committee Standing Chairmen:</u>** (Between 3 and 5 members drawn from the membership of the Licensing Committees – currently 5)

1	Goodwin
2	Неарѕ
3	Purchese
4	Stanely
5	Thompson

**<u>Standards Committee</u>** (6 councillors and 3 independent members and to be chaired by one of the independent members.

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Bloom	4	Goodall
2	Harris	5	Howlett
3	Woodall	6	Taylor
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Goodwin	1 Elkin	
2	Mattock	2	Goodyear

<u>Audit Committee</u> (5 councillors, not members of the Cabinet. Note, the Cabinet lead member for finance (or nominated substitute) attends in non-voting capacity\*)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Stanley	5	Marsden
2	D/Ch: Purchese	Su	bstitutes:
3	Pooley	1	tba
4	Woodall	2	tba
n/v	* Mattock		
Subs	titutes:		
1	Goodwin		
2	Miah		

# **ADVISORY GROUPS**

**Conservation Area Advisory Group** 4 (or 3) members, not Planning Committee members, plus external advisors)

Controlling Group				Opposition
1	Stanley	Ch and D/Ch	4	Goodyear
2	Woodall	tba		
3	Hough			

**Joint Staff Consultative Committee** (3 members, 2 from the controlling group and 1 from the largest opposition group, plus Staff representatives. Controlling Group's representation to include at least 1 Cabinet member. Chairmanship alternates between Employer's and Staff Sides).

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Tester	1	Goodall
2	Bannister		
Substitutes:		Substitutes:	
1	Heaps	1	Elkin
2	Tutt	2	Howlett

(N.B. Staff Side will take Chair next year in 2010/11)

# TASK GROUPS AND OTHER BODIES:

#### Grants Task Group (3 members)

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Ch: Mattock	3	Howlett	
2	Pooley			

#### **Downland Forum** (3 or 4 members)

Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Hough	3 Belsey	
2	Woodall		
(4)	No appointment to be made		

### Cleansing and Highways Forum (2 members)

Controlling Group	Opposition		
Wallis	Taylor		

#### Eastbourne Homes - Non Executive Directors (4 councillors)

	Controlling Group		Opposition	
1	Salsbury	3	Marsden	
2	Tutt	4	Mrs Murray	

# **Wealden and Eastbourne Lifeline Board - Non Executive Directors** (2 councillors)

	Controlling Group	Opposition	
1	Woodall	2	Howlett

## PROJECT BOARDS AND OTHER

Members' IT/T-Government Board: Goodwin and Goodyear.

Town Centre Development: Elkin and Tutt.

Cleansing Contracts/Garden Waste: Taylor and Wallis.

**Civil Parking** (joint with East Sussex County Council): Elkin and Madell.

Cultural Centre: Howlett and Madell.

**Local Development Framework Steering Group:** Taylor and Thompson.

**Councillors appointed to hold a Youth Brief:** Goodwin, Goodyear, Heaps and Purchese

Disability Champion: Goodwin

Black and Minority Ethnic (BME) Champion: Miah

Heritage Champion: Madell